All You Need Is Love

In the Greek language there are four different words for Love.

By Party0 - from Flickr

Photo taken from Flickr – Lomo Love – by Party0 The Beatle song has it right.

When love is the God kind (Agape), that is all we need.  The other forms of love fall short of perfection.

1) Eros – is physical passion, gratification and fulfillment.  This word is not mentioned in the New Testament probably because its name comes from the god of love, Eros. Biblically this love is to be between husband and wife, in marriage. Ephesians 5:31-33 “For this reason a man shall leave his father and mother and be joined to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh.   This is a great mystery, but I speak concerning Christ and the church.  Nevertheless let each one of you in particular so love his own wife as himself, and let the wife see that she respects her husband.”

God gave us this kind of love as an earthly picture of the heavenly kind of love. God’s ideal of eros is that husband and wife are merged so completely that they become one flesh – if this occurs it is easy for the husband to love the wife as he loves himself and easy for the wife to respect her husband.  The Bible tells us that a husband should love his wife the way Christ loved the church.  Christ laid down His life for us.  If our husbands love us with that depth of love, it is easy to respect them. Sadly, many do not fall in love, they fall in lust. If a relationship is based solely on lust, the relationship lasts only as long as the lust lasts.

2) Storge  –  Is the natural bond between a mother and child,  a father’s love, children, family.  Some say, “Blood is thicker than water.”  It is familial love. There are families where this bond is strong and positive and all members of the family grow strong and confident together.  Then, there are families, like mine, where this kind of love was destructive.  When Storge love is damaged, it makes it hard for a person to trust Father/Mother God.

3. Phileo  – Is affectionate love.  The city of Philadelphia (the City of Brotherly Love) comes from this word.  It is an intense, warm feeling among people.  Often this love is based on feelings, and one can fall out of affection as easily as one can fall into Phileo. It is hard to have Phileo love for one’s enemies.

4) Agape – is God’s kind of love.  It is not based on feelings, it is a choice.  This kind of love seeks the welfare of others over and above our own, even the welfare of enemies. When Jesus went to the cross to die for our sins, even though He was sin-free, that is agape love. None of us can demonstrate complete agape love, but our goal should be to approximate it.  Here are some of the qualities of agape, pulled from First Corinthians Chapter Thirteen.

  • Love suffers long and is kind.
  • Love does not envy.
  • Love does not parade itself, is not puffed up.
  • Love does not behave rudely.
  • Love does not seek its own.
  • Love is not provoked.
  • Love thinks no evil.
  • Love does not rejoice in iniquity.
  • Love rejoices in the truth.
  • Love bears all things.
  • Love believes all things.
  • Love hopes all things.
  • Love endures all things.
  • Love never fails.

In each of the above bullet points, if you insert your name, the sentence is not true. If you insert God, Jesus, Holy Spirit, Mercy, Grace, or Love, the passage is true. This is what agape love is. It puts the other person before self. This is the kind of love that Abba, Father has for us.  It is why we can trust Him even when our earthly fathers or mothers let us down.  I pray you feel the agape love of God in your life.  Let God wrap you in His arms and comfort you as you walk on your journey of healing. My next post will cover the second Bible verse covering who we are in Christ.  If you want to peek ahead to see what the other verses are, here is a link to the list posted on my other blog. Have a blessed day. Heather (Note, Bible verses come from the New King James Bible)

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Healing from abuse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to All You Need Is Love

  1. Hazel Moon says:

    Excellent Post: God’s Love abides forever.

  2. Ollin says:

    Wow, I learned so much. I didn’t know there were so many different kinds of love. Our language is limited isn’t it? Thanks for sharing!

    • Our language is limited, although we can be more precise if we choose. I was surprised to learn that northern tribes such as the Saami have hundreds of words for snow and ice. We have fewer. Thank you for your site and the information you share on it, I’ve learned a lot from your posts. Have a blessed day.
      Heather

Leave a Reply

