Expectation

Have you ever prayed and asked God to do something in your life and He didn’t do what you expected? How do you handle that? How can we pray in faith, expecting, not receive an answer, and still believe that God is there and cares? When we don’t get the response we want, what went wrong? Why do we sometimes pray for good things and God is remarkably silent?

I begged God to stop the abuse, to kill my father, to kill me, to rescue me. God didn’t answer my prayers the way I wanted.  When I began my journey of healing, I gave God the roadmap and path I felt I should take. He chose a different path and did things in His own timing.

When God did not respond to my prayers the way I expected, I grew angry at God because I felt He abandoned me. He denied me the specific answers I desired so I assumed He didn’t care. In retrospect, I realize He answered my prayers in surprising ways and His answer was better than anything I could think or imagine.

The problem was, I wanted God to conform to my plans. By trying to get Him to fit into my mold I was diminishing God. If I could force God to do my will, it would limit His power in my life. Now, when problems and challenges loom, I’m grateful that God is bigger than my limited ideas and His plans are more creative than anything I could imagine.

We see with limited vision. There is no way we have the total picture.  We can know our reactions to things but we don’t know all the other factors that come into play in our circumstances.

Navigating life is like walking through a maze. We know some things about the path we are taking, but not the complete layout of the maze. At intersections in our life, do we turn left or right? If only we could be raised above the maze, it would be easy to decide the correct path to take. God has greater understanding of our lives than we can have with our own understanding.  When we take the time to listen to Him, we make fewer wrong turns.

Let God be God. He can direct our paths with His infinite knowledge. We have the choice to trust Him or not.

Before we talk more about expectations, there are two questions to consider.

1) Have you ever prayed fervently for something and it wasn’t provided? Then, later you were  glad that God didn’t answer that prayer.

I can think of a few love interests God did not let develop.  Instead, He led me to Jim. We just celebrated our twenty-fifth anniversary and have three wonderful children.

2) Has God ever surprised you with an answer to prayer that gave you far more than you expected?

God led me to a Bible study, and the teacher of that study was the pastor who helped me to begin healing from my past. I only asked God for a good Bible study and He provided so much more.

Tomorrow we are going to talk about productive expectations and expectations that hinder our lives.

I pray you have a wonderful day.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Healing from abuse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Expectation

  1. Pingback: God has plans for your life. Remember God’s faithfulness « bummyla

Leave a Reply

